How my iPhone photos were sought by news organisations

Leaving a Soho bar on Thursday night, I walked straight into the aftermath of the ceiling collapse at the Apollo Theatre in central London.  Fire brigade crews, police and ambulances were arriving on Shaftesbury Avenue and the road was cordoned off.  Well, as a good digital citizen journalist, I whipped out my iPhone, took a few shots and uploaded them to various social media channels.  Amazingly, within minutes I’d had three offers from news organisations asking for the photos – including Al Jazeera and the Telegraph.  Here were the tweets:

Marie Le Conte@youngvulgarian 13h

@tonyrossmcmahon Hi, I work at the Telegraph picture desk, would you mind us using this picture on our website (w/ credits)? Thanks, Marie
Jack Maddox@MaddoxJack 12h

@tonyrossmcmahon – can we use your picture on air for @ajam?
Jack Williams@itsjackwilliams 13h

@tonyrossmcmahon Hey Tony. I’m a journalist out in New York and just wanted to check if it’s OK to use your images for the Apollo story?

And the photos below:

One thought on “How my iPhone photos were sought by news organisations

Leave a Reply

